Zone Alarm

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dazednconfussed

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
10
I installed Zone Alarm and am having trouble getting it to work on all the user desktops. I have the program set to load at startup, and it does. But when I log off one user and on to another, I get a message saying the TrueVector is trying to load, but it never does. Anyone know what I did wrong? I tried installing it from each desktop but that didn't help.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
I think if I were you I would go to programs & under zonealarm uninstall it first & then Go to add/remove(2nd) under control panel & remove it there ... Then redownload it & Then reinstall the program.

Savvy :)
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Go to add/remove under control panel & remove it there
I agree, but before you uninstall ZA, first go to the Configure tab, uncheck 'Load Zonealarm at Startup', and reboot.

If you don't, this causes untold problems...

Good luck,
 

dazednconfussed

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
10
It's the free version number 2.6.357. I did what Tony said and unchecked the startup box, then rebooted. Then I uninstalled & redownloaded the program. It's still doing the same thing. Could it be that it doesn't support multiple desktops?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
I did what Tony said and unchecked the startup box, then rebooted. Then I uninstalled & redownloaded the program. It's still doing the same thing. Could it be that it doesn't support multiple desktops?
Well I see you didn't do what I said...& Tony quoted you, not unless you skipped telling us in your reply. I told you to go to add remove after you uninstalled & delete it from the system.

multiple desktops as in more than one user & different desktops for each???
I don't think it would. When you switch desktops do you reboot?

Savvy :)
 

dazednconfussed

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
10
SavvyLady,
Yes I did go to the add/remove after the uninstall. As you can probable see typing is not my strong suit! And yes my children each have their own desktop. I'm using win 98, when they log off it goes to a screen that has all the users listed, so no we don't reboot.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Originally posted by SavvyLady


. I told you to go to add remove after you uninstalled & delete it from the system.

Savvy,


After you've 'uninstalled' it, you don't need to go to Software add/remove, for then it isn't there any more...

That's what you do in Software add/remove: uninstall programs.

It is not possible to uninstall/remove a program twice...

If you meant 'disable' ZoneAlarm, that's something else, but it wasn't clear from your post.
And unfortunately that isn't enough, most of the time.

That's why I advised (like ZoneLabs also says) to remove ZA from startup, and then reboot.

That way the program is sure to be inactive after rebooting, and it can subsequently be uninstalled in Programs Add/Remove (ususally) without any adverse effects.

Afterwards, reboot again.

Grtz.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
I meant as a method of making sure it was entirely gone. Mine did not uninstall properly ( I had ZAPro at the time... it was not in my startup ) & I ended up reinstalling windows. The guy that worked on mine said always go to add remove to make sure thats its gone.... It really screwed mine up.

A friend that lives locally didn't uninstall... she went to add remove first & it screwed hers up too. It took part of her systems drivers out with it.



Savvy

Anyway it didn't help this problem
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Savvy,

Whatever anyone may have told you, there's only one way to correctly uninstall a program in Windows, and that's through its uninstall string.

It can be accessed through the uninstall shortcut in the program's entry in your start menu, you can doubleclick unwise.exe or uninstall.exe in its folder in Program Files, or you can go to Add/remove programs.

They're just different ways of triggering the program's built in uninstaller.

Add/Remove programs is just a user interface, Windows way of putting all these 'uninstall shortcuts' together for easy retrieval.

It doesn't make a difference how you do it. The uninstall process is exactly the same.

Greetz,
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Now is ZoneAlarm on each PC?
It is a software Firewall so you need to install it on each PC.
TonyKlein is right in that it's best not to have it in startup because it asking for trouble.
Open ZoneAlarm and go to the Configure tab and uncheck the "Load ZoneAlarm at Startup"
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hewee,

We're talking about removing ZoneAlarm here...

If you plan on actually using it, like with any other firewall, I recommend having it load with Windows, for otherwise it's far too easy to forget, and then you won't be protected.

Once properly installed, there's no reason not to have it load at startup.

If a conflict does unexpectedly occur at startup, it's most often due to a timing conflict, which can be easily corrected by having ZA load from the startup folder, instead of from the Registry.

Greetz,
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top