ZoneAlarm config

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sinsation

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
323
I just installed the latest zonealarm and something's buggin' me.

How do I allow website access? Whenever I try to view a page, it gets blocked and my aol connection ends up terminated. =/
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
What does the "blocking message" say?

You probably need to add your DNS and DHCP to your 'Trusted' zone in your firewall panel.
 

sinsation

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
323
Ok, I got it. I set zone alarm to show all alerts and relogged into the 'net, and clicked "yes" to allow aol. I had it set to not show alerts before.
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
Great...I'm pleased it worked out for you. Zone Alarm is one of the best firewalls around but also has a learning curve to understand how it should be configured for your use. :)
 

sinsation

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
323
Thank you. =]

Another question, if you don't mind.
I set windows explorer to ask upon connection (being it's usually for hard drive browsing, right?), internet explorer is set to allow connection.. but when I try to connect to a site it asks for window explorer permission rather than just allowing it through ie. Do you know why this is?
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
Good Day,

Concerning the Windows Explorer question, there is a problem in some windows installations where IE opens in a Windows explorer shell. To look at it you cannot tell the difference, but it shows up as windows explorer running.

I've seen this question on other forums and exactly why some Windows installations act this way is above my technical understanding. However,I think your security will not be compromised if you grant internet access. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top