1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ZoneAlarm - New Version?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by DoubleHelix, Feb 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I'm currently running the free version of ZoneAlarm. The version I have installed is 6.5.737.000 which has an installation file size of 13MB. On ZoneLabs' website, there's a free version 7.0.302.000 with an installation file size of 38.1MB. Is this the same free ZoneAlarm? Given the drastic increase in size, I'm a bit skeptical. That and if I manually check for updates via ZoneAlarm, it says I'm running the most current version.

    Is anyone else running 7.0.302.000?
     
  2. blkwlnt64

    blkwlnt64

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    As near as I determine the new version is for the antivirus.
     
  3. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
  4. blkwlnt64

    blkwlnt64

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    And apparently if you don't have enough RAM installed, it gives you wierd Windows installer errors. I know because it did it to me and besides I hate 'suites'.
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    So this "new" version (which the current version doesn't recognize) includes an anti-virus component?
     
  7. blkwlnt64

    blkwlnt64

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    If you looked at editors note toward the bottom of MG screen, it say the size of the dl is because it contains the Zone Alarm suite. It may contain the av component but don't want to install to find out.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544904

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice