1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ZoneAlarm Pro Blocking All the Wrong Things

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Carmelia, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Carmelia

    Carmelia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    I have ZA Pro 6.5 and it's blocking all the wrong stuff - flash (not flash ads), forum attachment thumbnails, videos, the audio pronunciations on m-w.com, etc. It's also random. It blocks certain things on certain sites but not others. For instance, the flash games on miniclip.com work fine but when I go to spore.com, the introductory flash doesn't show.

    Under Privacy > Cookies, I have only checked 'block 3rd party cookies'.

    Under Privacy > Ad blocking, I have nothing checked.

    Under Privacy > Mobile code, I have checked 'block scripts' and 'block embedded objects'.

    I can't figure out what configuration to use that will allow ZA to stop being so neurotic. Everything worked fine with v5.x.
     
  2. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    By default, blocking mobile code is off. You can't customise this menu; perhaps you should disable it?

    If you really need it blocking, then add the sites that it is blocking to the sites list and allow mobile code there.
     
  3. Carmelia

    Carmelia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Yes, it's off by default but I can customise it. I was told to leave those two options checked for security, though.

    I would, but its blocking is very random and there are far too many sites for me to manually add.

    Is there a way to revert back to an old version? Unfortunately I've deleted the old version's installer.
     
  4. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
  5. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Stop using IE and you cab have better control over things. What you see on the safe list is for IE and you will not have to deal with that tab.
    IE can be a pain to deal with on what and how ZA is blocking things and it you up ZA setting to protect you better then you can go nuts trying to find out what your blocking.
    Also note that in the safe list a site could have more then one cookie etc listed so your have to deal with all that comes from the site. Right click and make the changes for the site. Then clear the IE temp folder and close down IE. Open IE up and go back and see if things work.

    But best of all use firefox.
     
  6. SuzieQ

    SuzieQ

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    I had zone alarm installed on my computer and had all kinds of problems. I have cable internet and talking to them on the phone they thought I had a virus. I called back later that day (when I was home - I originally called from work) and thankfully the tech support guy thought to ask me if I had ZA installed. He said to uninstall it and my problems went away...
     
  7. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483127

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice